How are French Babies Healthier?

A friend posted this article on Facebook today and I found it very interesting. I read the book “Bringing Up Bébé” a while back and was in awe at how mothers in France teach their babies so much so early. I have even taken some of the lessons to heart. If you know me, you know I am all about the routine. Some people may think of me as a crazy schedule lady. I may even be seen as a sleep tyrant. That means that in our house nap times and night time routines do not get interrupted unless there is nothing I can do about it. Let’s be real, I can usually do something about it.

We plan outings around sleep times. We also avoid sugar (for the most part) unless it is a special occasion. We try not to snack, but because they have snack time in school, this is hard to avoid at home. To remedy that, if they want a snack, they can pick from our fruit basket. I love that they run up and M asks for a banana while T asks for an orange. They leave with their snack as happy as any kid getting a candy.

The article mainly talks about ADD and ADHD. I don’t claim to know much about these and I would never dare say that a child that is suffering with anything was misdiagnosed. That would be so disrespectful to the parents. I know plenty of parents trying to help their children have happy healthy lives and are doing it amazingly. I wanted to share the article because I found it interesting.

I do agree with the part of the article that suggests that we are poisoning our bodies little by little with too many artificial items. I wish I could be 100% natural. It is just so hard (and expensive in this day and age). We, like all good parents, do the best we can.

I would love to know your thoughts on the matter. How true do you feel this is in your experience?

Please click on this link to view article:

“Why French Kids Don’t Have ADHD”

2015/01/img_6562-0.jpg

Leave a Reply

