Learning About The World

IMG_3956.JPG

When my kids were born, I told myself that I would do what I could to help them be bilingual. Though my methods may not be as good as others (say full immersion) they work for our little family. By trying to keep it light and fun, they will hopefully not see different languages as scary or foreign (pun intended).

I want them to embrace different languages and cultures even if they don’t quite understand them. I signed up for a world wide holiday card exchange program through Multicultural Kids Blog and am very excited about that. We will be making (not buying, not in my house) cards for 3 families. One is in the states, but the other 2 are in Northern Ireland and Germany. I’m excited!

I set the map on the floor and had them help me find where the cards will be headed. They were so excited to see that some of the cards will have to go over the ocean to get to their new friends. I’m not sure if they fly mail or send mail in boats these days, so I let them make their own trip. M said they are headed there in an alligator’s mouth. T wants them to go on a helicopter. Cute!

Leave a Reply

