Family Love

My mama and my monkeys

My mama and my monkeys

I saw a great post on Worpress by another bilingual mama that got me thinking. It’s written in Spanish by Viviendo en el Extranjero and is about learning to be a mom away from her own mom. She talks about how she wishes her mom was closer to watch her baby grow, to give help and advice and to just be her best friend. She, like me, lives far from her mom and does get to talk to her often on the phone and through Skype (which, by the way, is the coolest invention yet for families far from each other).  I can relate to her whole story.

We are grateful for every word we share, every image we can gather and every story we can tell through the methods available to us. Being far from each other, however, does get difficult at times. It is especially hard in the holidays because those are the times you should be with those you love, right? Fortunately, we will get to spend Christmas together this year. I am very much looking forward to that. And don’t get me wrong, I am not trying to complain. I know how lucky I am to have such a close knit family no matter how far apart we are. And we love being close to my husband’s family as well. We talk, we share, we joke and they make an effort to get to know my kids. That is something I truly love. My boys talk about Lita and their tias as well as their Opa and Oma and uncle all of the time. They even pretend to drive to their houses or fly to Mexico and New York on their imaginary cars and planes, even in spaceships! Ooo, there is my picture book idea of the day!

So stay close to those you love, treasure every minute you get to spend with them even if it’s only a conversation on the phone or through a silly computer. These are times we will all look back on and treasure. Say hi to those you love today! Love you, family!

IMG_2831NaBloPoMo_November

(If you would like to share my blog, I would be so grateful. You can find it under www.bilingualeyes.wordpress.com. You can also find it in Spanish at www.bilinguazo.worpress.com and on Facebook under www.facebook.com/bilinguazo. And don’t forget to hit me up on Twitter at https://twitter.com/bilinguazo. Thanks a bunch!)

Leave a Reply

