Bringing Themes to Life Through Language

zoo

The second session of Spanish school is complete.  This time, my oldest learned more about animals.  He loves to point and name them in Spanish.  We also had a planned trip to the Austin Zoo and Animal Sanctuary which happened to fit in nicely with the theme. While at the zoo, we would review the names of the animals as we passed them. He seemed to be really interested in this as we went along. 

Now the zoo here is an animal sanctuary so it’s not as large as other cities’ zoos.  It’s a wonderful place where the animals are cared for nicer than they probably ever have been before. It’s a great place and a great cause that I urge you to support if you have the chance. But, back to the story, I don’t know how receptive he would have been to repeating names in a larger setting for hours on end.  This was just the right size for a little review. And we had the additional bonus of being surrounded by total cuteness.

How can we tie in a theme like we did this week in future lessons? I’m searching for new ways to make it fun just like the zoo was. And I’m hoping to be able to combine settings and activities to give them different types of exposure to themes. I think this will help him visualize the words better.  At least that is what I’m hoping.

Being able to make the connection between words using different examples or in different ways helped me learn English. I loved when I made the connection and finally got it.  That feeling of accomplishment is one of those good feelings that I want my boys to experience over and over in life.

So with all of that being said, I’m researching themes and ideas to help with this little plan.  I know a lot of you have developed your own systems to make learning fun and interactive.  I would love to hear your ideas. What do you see through your Bilingualeyes

 

(If you would like to share my blog, I would be so grateful. You can find it in Spanish at www.bilinguazo.worpress.com and on Facebook under www.facebook.com/bilinguazo. Thanks a bunch!)

Leave a Reply

