Offically Bilingual, or at Least Part of the Group

I have talked about finding new ways to help my children hear and learn more Spanish.  I have looked at so many sites, articles and books that I’m starting to confuse myself a little with all the advice offered.  So I decided to put myself out there and become part of a larger community.

I’ve joined a new Facebook group called Bilingual Parents Connect that I think will be great for my family.  It’s a closed group right now, but will be open soon. The main focus of the group is accountability.  Right now, the parents will help each other be accountable for reading to their children in their heritage language.  I think this is a great idea and it may actually work for our family! Fingers crossed.

I have been telling myself I need to do more, I even wrote a post about it not too long ago. I know I am not so great at motivating myself to try something new or something different on my own.  But, if you tell me people are watching or will be, well then, let’s go read! I have never liked failing, especially in front of people. (I suppose this could have something to do with my fear of public speaking 🙂 )

Of all of the things I have not done so great, this is one I can start to change.  Reading to my kids in Spanish is a great way for them to get used to hearing it and understanding it.  Plus we get to have that quiet bonding time where it is just the three of us looking at the book together.

I try to do what I call our hour of Spanish and we get excited for by chanting “es la hora de español” as often as I can.  During that time we also go over books we own or check out from the library.  (I will post some of our favorites another time.) This group makes me want to add more stories for them.  I hope we can keep each other motivated and can continue to grow as an international community together.  The diversity on the group so far is invigorating!

I shall keep you posted on our progress and hopefully work with them for a long time. For now I would like to say thank you to Olena Centeno for welcoming me and for lighting a little fire under me!

Do you have any favorite children’s books or children’s series in Spanish for little ones that you recommend?

2 thoughts on “Offically Bilingual, or at Least Part of the Group

  1. cafechica says:

    I am loving the Dr. Suess book, Huevos Verdes con Hamon right now. Admittedly, it is mostly for me since my daughter isn’t too interested in it yet! It’s hard to find good translations of English books into Spanish. I need to look for more that are written in Spanish originally.

    Like

    • Thanks, Cafechica! And it’s so true that it’s way too difficult to find good translations. A lot of the ones I have seen appear to have been translated by a machine or a non native speaker so they just don’t sound right. Talk about lost in translation! I will look for Dr. Seuss books for sure. I was afraid they might not be good translations, but if you like this one, I’ll give them a try! 🙂

      I’ll let you know which others I find.

      Like

Leave a Reply

